Thank you for Love

January 30, 2009 at 5:19 pm (1)

The stuff in cool slanty letters was part of a message to a wonderful friend.

Hey I just wanted to say thanks again for welcoming me so much in that discussion last night it was great. Its just so wonderful that I’ve found this new group of people that love Christ. Its so great. Thank you so much for knowing me and stuff.

Also, I thought of an issue I’ve been dealing with that kind of reminds me a little bit of what we were talking about last night, and our conversation last night helped me to resolve it for myself a little bit.

I’ve been thinking a lot about what’s going on at my church, because the place is falling apart, and its kind of been left up to just a few of us to fix it. We’re going to actually be taking over the first service, and its going to start looking a whole lot different. The way it is now is going to die, and we’re going to start something completely new. We’re sort of starting a completely new church. And we’re all really scared.

So I’ve been thinking a lot about what a Church is actually supposed to look like. So I’ve been reading Acts a lot and that sort of thing. And I realized that lately, I’ve been trying really hard to get myself in a mindset of … the only thing that matters with the people of the congregation is the love they share for Christ, and recognition that Christ loves each one of them more than they can even imagine, and that he is the way the truth and the light.

The only problem has been that I had started to lose sight of the fact that I’m one of those people. That Christ loves me no matter what my Church looks like. And I needed so badly for someone to remind of that.

Whether our Church stays at 30 people every service or it grows to 3000, it doesn’t matter. And it doesn’t matter if I am a worship leader some day. Those things aren’t what makes me who I am.

I am Loved by Christ. And that’s so hard to believe sometimes.

Christ’s love is not a gift I can give to people. The only thing I can do is try to open their eyes the gift they’ve already been given.

God, help to live a missional life. Help me to truly just love people because they exist. Not because I want them to come to my church. Help me to see the people that need your love the most, not just the people I bump in to. Help me to see the people that don’t see you.

Jesus, flood me with everything it means to live like you. I might not be ready to handle everything all at once, most people aren’t for that ever. But tell me what I need to hear, show me what I need to see, give me what I need the most, even If I don’t think I want it.

And give me the courage to deal with that.

1 Comment

  1. brad johnson said,

    dude, you’ve been bloggin up a storm … nice.
    by the way, thank-you for the love.

Leave a Reply

