They Call Her Love

March 12, 2009 at 5:17 pm (1)

I’ve had this image stuck in my head all day.
Alone
I can’t get it out its stuck there.

I see God’s Love in real life so much. Every day.

I see this unfailing love that’s being given to me, even though I don’t deserve it. And sometimes I can’t even believe it, because I can’t believe that the people I love need me just as much as I need them, because that love is just so big and so much and so often that there’s just no way that we could possibly be on the same page about it. And sometimes I get stuck in that, and then I realize that they really do love me, and cry when I hurt them, and it makes me cry, and fall to my knees, and then I realize that they’re standing there to lift me up off of my knees, even though I’m not worthy of that at all. And they hold me and love me forever.

I see all of these things with my girlfriend all the time. Every day, in fact.

And this is the image I can’t get out of my head.

I can screw up so horribly and fall flat on my face in front of the cross. I fall to my knees and weep and pound my chest.

And suddenly the cross just disappears and Christ grabs my under my arms, picks me up, and just holds me. He bear hugs me, man. And I push Him away and struggle and fight, and he just refuses to let go until all the pain is gone. And he tells me he loves me through a face covered in tears.

The image is of me falling to my knees in worship and realization of my pain and unworthiness, and of a God who lifts me to my feet and says, weeping … “Well, you’re good enough for me.”

Anyway, I’ve been on the edge of tears all day because of it. I just can’t get that image out of my head. It didn’t come from anywhere either. Other than from God. That’s the only explanation there is. God is just saying “Hey Sash. I love You. Just so you know.” And that alone is overwhelming.

I need to go play my guitar. I feel amazing.

Hey … Check out the song She Is Love by Parachute VA.

Leave a Reply

