The Good Lord

April 18, 2009 at 4:57 am (1)

Brad did a great message last week about how we just skip over certain aspects of Christian life because we’ve grown up with them or we’ve committed them to memory.

Things like “redemption” and “life to the full”.

This idea of resurrection is a big one. Because everything goes to shit around Easter time at most churches. Because the people who know nothing but the church start to obsess over the service’s perfection, which it never is. I could go on for days and pages about that, but I won’t, because it will just frustrate me.

Anyways, I was reading my Bible at work, and it really hit me what this time of year means to me.

This is what I wrote on a sticky pad when I was there.

Why did God give Himself up for us?

Being slaves to the law means being slaves to sin because of our sinful nature. With the law, we recognize our sin, but are still slaves to it. In Christ, we are set free from the law of sin, because by realizing His resurrection we are realizing His being brought to life in us forever. In a culture that lives for themselves, a man lived to redeem them by dying for them. They thought that death could stop that kind of love. The same power the rescued the earth … the same love that conquered the grave … lives in me.

Happy Easter.

Leave a Reply

