Significance

October 5, 2009 at 7:06 pm (1)

Okay. Its time for a new book.Strength!

Lets do Ephesians. Its relatively short, but I’m not Bible scholar, and I certainly haven’t read it all the way through.

So lets get started.

Once again, this letter is signed by Paul, apostle of Jesus Christ by the will and the blah blah.

Addressed to the Ephesians.

I love how Paul starts his letters. Not only does he express grace and peace to the Ephesians, two of the most beautiful things that could be offered, but he goes on to explain in great detail the significance of the gospel and its effect on our day to day lives. He does it over and over again, letter after letter, meeting different types of people where they need to be met. That’s the beauty of scripture. It’ll meet you. Wherever you are.

Paul says that Christ died to save us without us even knowing. Before we even needed it or saw it coming. That before the creation of anything, he chose us to be blameless in His sight.

Which we now … are. Thanks to Christ. We’re all going to heaven. Good news, I’d say.

For those who believe, and this is for the religious people who are swearing at me under their breath because I’m saying that you don’t need faith to be saved, there are in fact some perks, according to Paul. Believing in God, having faith in Him, makes us so much stronger than I think we could ever even dream of. Its hard, with or without any sort of faith, to accept our own weaknesses. With faith, we approach a place where we’re okay with accepting less of ourselves to make room for God. And allowing God to work through us always turns out good.

How we actually physically accept our own weaknesses, as opposed to denying them even to ourselves, is another thing all together. I really have no idea. I just know that as soon I admit my problems to myself, and to others, as soon as I tell my problems that they don’t matter to God, God takes their place.That makes no sense, I know. But its the most sense I can make of it.

So basically, to attempt to answer an age old question … why do I need Christianity to be a good person? The answer is, of course, that you don’t. God doesn’t even need to you to be a Christian to die for you. He already did that, before you were even born. I think, for me, its my faith that holds me hopeful. I also think having faith, having my eyes opened up, has really kicked ass since it happened. According to Paul in Ephesians, the same power that God exerted to raise Christ from the dead, now lives in us, to use as we so believe.

Christ lives, today, as the head of His body, the church.

The same power conquered the grave, lives in me, and that, my friends, is bad ass.

That’s chapter 1. Chapter 2 tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

